McCallum  High  School  Foundation

A.N. McCallum Creative Learning and Career Advancement Foundation    •    P.O. Box 26446    •    Austin, TX   78755
July 2020:    First Ever "ACE Scholarship" Awarded
The McCallum HS Foundation's Board of Directors have instituted an additional scholarship this year. The Foundation is pleased to announce that Owen Scales, a musical theatre major in the McCallum Fine Arts Academy, is the first recipient of the "Academic Achievement & Creative Excellence Scholarship". The ACE SCHOLARSHIP provides a $2,000 award from the McCallum HS Foundation. Mr. Scales plans to enroll at the University of Michigan, majoring in musical theatre.
(For more, select the "ACE" link at top of this page.)

July 2020:   Denney Scholarship Awarded to Dancer
The McCallum Foundation is pleased to announce that McCallum Fine Arts Academy dance major Lilly Brown is the recipient of the 2020 Ruth Denney Memorial Scholarship. Ms. Brown has received $2,000 from the McCallum HS Foundation.
(For more, select "Scholarships" link at top of this page.)

UT College of Fine Arts Adds Scholarship
Ms. Brown has enrolled as a dance major in the College of Fine Arts (COFA) at the University of Texas at Austin. As the Foundation's Denney scholar, Ms. Brown will also receive an additional $1,000 from the COFA Dean, Dr. Douglas Dempster.


May 2019:  Denney Scholarship Awarded to Pianist
On May 22nd McCallum pianist Luke Thiessen presented his Senior Recital. During the Fine Arts Academy Convocation the next evening, Mr. Thiessen was awarded the 2019 Ruth Denney Memorial Scholarship. Mr. Thiessen will be enrolling in the Butler School of Music at the University of Texas at Austin.
           UT College of Fine Arts Matches the Denney Award
For several years the College of Fine Arts Dean, Dr. Douglas Dempster, has matched the $1,000 Denney Scholarship if the Denney recipient enrolls as a UT College of Fine Arts major. Luke Thiessen will receive $1,000 from Dean Dempster and the University of Texas.
March 2019:  Elena Villalon, 2015 Denney Scholarship Recipient, Honored in Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions
Ms. Villalon will be a soprano for the 2019-2020 season in the Houston Grand Opera's studio artist program. For more, see posting by Michael Barnes:

May 2018:  Denney Scholarship Awarded to Dancer
During the McCallum Fine Arts Academy Convocation on May 30, 2018 the McCallum High School CLCA Foundation awarded a $1000 scholarship to MFAA senior dance student Ms. Kennedy Schuelke.  In college Ms. Schuelke will major in dance and health & human sciences. She plans to become a dance instructor and physical therapist.

June 2017:  Denney Scholar to Study Art & Architecture
During the McCallum Fine Arts Academy 2017 Convocation the McCallum CLCA Foundation presented a $1000 scholarship to MFAA senior visual art student, Ms. Emma Ryan.  Ms. Ryan plans to become an architect.

June 2016: Two More Denney Scholarships Awarded

During the McCallum Fine Arts Academy 2016 Convocation the Foundation presented $1000 scholarships to two MFAA Seniors. Ms. Isabella Kruger-Seiler will continue her study of the cello. Mr. Kendrick Lawson will pursue a degree in Performance Theatre and Musical Theatre. During the Convocation the 2015 recipient of the Ruth Denney Memorial Scholarship, Ms. Elena Villalon, gave a magnificent operatic performance.
January 2016:      Foundation Mourns the Passing of Two Board Members

Sadly, we recently lost two dedicated supporters of the McCallum Fine Arts Academy and the McCallum High School CLCA Foundation.


Dr. Timy Baranoff was one of our original Community Advisory Board members. After serving thirty-two years as an AISD teacher and administrator Dr. Baranoff retired in 1993. Within months she joined Ms. Ruth Denney, Ms. Bermice Hart, and the UT Fine Arts Dean, Dr. Jon Whitmore, to form the Advisory Board for the development of the Fine Arts Academy. She served until that Board transitioned in 1997 to become the McCallum High School CLCA Foundation. In 1999 the AISD Trustees honored her by naming a new school Baranoff Elementary, While her participation in Foundation activities waned since that time, she remained a staunch supporter of the Fine Arts Academy.  Dr. Baranoff was 89 when she died on December 18, 2015.


Ronald “Ronnie” Franke Jr. was a chemical engineer and software developer.  He had been a Foundation Board member and officer since 2005. While serving as the Board Chair in 2007 he strongly advocated for the creation of the Ruth Denney Memorial Scholarship. Since 2008 the Foundation has given $10,000 in scholarships to McCallum Fine Arts Academy Seniors. Mr. Franke was the Foundation Vice-Chair when he died January 1, 2016 at age 55.


Thousands of McCallum students have benefited from the dedication and service of these two and the other departed Foundation Board members, Ms. Ruth Denney, Ms. Bernice Hart, and Mr. Eugene Brown.

October 2015:  Career Discovery Series
The McCallum Foundation sponsored a seminar on October 22 for McCallum students interested in professional writing. The presentation featured script writer Mr. Pat Hazell. Mr. Hazell is best known for his work as a writer on the hit TV sitcom SEINFELD.

For the Career Discovery Series the Foundation continues to bring business and fine arts professionals to McCallum High School for Q/A with interested students.


June 2015:  Scholarship Recipient Announced    

Ms. Elena Villalon is the recipient of this year's RUTH DENNEY MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP.
Ms. Villalon plans to study voice with an emphasis on opera.
Since 2007 the Foundation has awarded $10,000 in this scholarship program.
At the bottom of this page is information on becoming a scholarship supporter.

March 2015:     MAC Music Program Tops in Nation
National GRAMMY® Signature School
McCallum HS awarded grant and named as the Top U.S. Public High School for
Excellence in Music Education by the GRAMMY® Foundation

The GRAMMY® Foundation announced on March 10, 2015 that McCallum High School in
was awarded the top designation of National GRAMMY Signature School, and received a $5,000 grant. McCallum High School is the only school in the nation to receive this top designation for 2015.


June 2014:        Three $1000 Scholarships Awarded

In honor of the CENTENNIAL of the birth of Ms. RUTH DENNEY (1914-2007), the McCallum High School Foundation has awarded three $1000 scholarships to three outstanding senior arts majors graduating from the Fine Arts Academy. Peformance theater major Loretta Adams-Licklider, violinist Corina Sanchez, and visual artist Nicholas Olivares were selected to each receive the 2014 Ruth Denney Memorial Scholarship. 

November 2013:  Career Discovery Series
McCallum Foundation sponsored a seminar on November 14 for McCallum students in Ms. Carey West's photography class that featured three speakers on "The Professional Photographer".   Ms. Mary Sledd (a 1999 McCallum graduate) owns  "Sledd Photography" in Austin. Ms. Leslie Baldwin is Photography Editor for the "Texas Monthly" magazine. Mr. Gabriel Pérez is a graduate student and TA in The University of Texas School of Journalism.