McCallum  High  School  Foundation

A.N. McCallum Creative Learning and Career Advancement Foundation    •    P.O. Box 26446    •    Austin, TX   78755
Academic Achievement + Creative Excellence

Established in August 1993 by unanimous vote of the AISD Board of Trustees, for program development of an intensely focused and accelerated fine arts program for grades six through twelve at Lamar MS and McCallum High School.

Lamar's principal, Darlene Westbrook, and her leadership counterpart at McCallum HS, Penny Miller, enlisted Ms. Ruth Denney as an expert advisor. They selected art educator Fred Woody to serve as the development coordinator. The fine arts faculties of both schools played important roles in planning and developing the accelerated curriculum. With a grant from the RGK Foundation, faculty visited several schools in Texas and one in Maryland to observe successful programs. During the 1994-95 academic year new courses were initiated, including AP Studio Art at the high school and dance class at the middle school.

The 1993 Fine Arts Faculty:
Paulette Rainey, Cynthia Winters, Sharon Raymond, Gene Raymond, Dr. Laurie Scott, Al Rodriguez, Carol Ann Nelson, William Staples, & Fred Woody.

A COMMUNITY ADVISORY BOARD was formed in the fall of 1993 and  served until the Foundation was formalized in 1997. Ms. Denney served as the Chairperson until Mr. Gilbert Elsass took the helm of the new McCallum HS Foundation in 1997. He was succeded by Mr. Kelly Toombs. The current Foundation chair is Robert Wahrmund.

1993 Advisory Board Charter Members:
Ruth Denney, Penny Miller, Darlene Westbrook, AISD Trustee Bernice Hart, Dr. Timy Baranoff, Dr. Jon Whitmore, Jean Nipper, Gene Raymond, & Fred Woody.

1997  Foundation Board Charter Members:
Gilbert Elsass, Ruth Denney, Shelly Pittman, Lanier Bayliss, Gene Raymond, Robert Wahrman, Kelly Toombs, & Richard Cowles.

To honor these persons and many others who facilitated the growth and development of the McCallum Fine Arts Academy, in 2020 the current Board of Directors established the
This award of $2,000 recognizes a Senior's CREATIVE EXCELLENCE as a MFAA artist/performer, while also acknowledging the highest level of ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT.


McCallum HS Foundation

Created in 1997 as a non-profit 501c3 organization (formally named the A.N. McCallum Creative Learning & Career Advancement Foundation) to facilitate community partnerships between all programs at McCallum High School and the vast array of fine arts and educational resources available in Austin, Texas. The Foundation's Board of Directors includes members of the Austin community, McCallum High School faculty, administrators, and parents.

The Foundation Goals:
  • To support quality fine arts instruction
  • To facilitate strong career pathways through course work, internships, on-the-job training, and scholarships
  • To build community partnerships and promote fine arts opportunities
  • To incorporate technology into the curriculum
  • To raise and administer funds for the Foundation's two annual scholarship awards


        Accepting Tax Deductible Contributions

The McCallum HS Foundation (501c3) accepts contributions throughout the year for both the Ruth Denney Memorial Scholarship Fund and for the general support of fine arts, technology, and all academic endeavors of A.N. McCallum High School.  Checks should be mailed to:


McCallum HS Foundation

P.O. 26446

Austin, TX 78755







Website Builder